LP proclaims Iloilo bets for 2013 elections

ILOILO CITY, Philippines – The Liberal Party (LP) in the city and province of Iloilo led by three-term Senator Franklin Drilon on Saturday proclaimed its final candidates who would run for congress, September 22, 2012 for 2013 midterm elections.

The proclamation rally was held at EON Centennial and Convention Center in Alta Tierra Village, Jaro Gym, Jaro, Iloilo City at around 8:30 A.M Saturday.

Reports said there were nominees that have been endorsed for different positions on City of Iloilo.

They are incumbent Iloilo City Lone District Representative Jerry Treñas for congress, Iloilo City Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog running as mayor and Vice Mayor Jose Espinosa III for vice mayor, all seeking for reelection position.

The Liberal Party’s 12 candidates for City Councilors were also announced as incumbent City Councilor Joshua Alim, Lyndon Acap, Plaridel Nava, R Leoni Gerochi, Rodel Fullon Agado (known as Voltes 5) and Jason Gonzales.

Additionally, the Liberal Party also includes former city councilors Armand Parcon, Jay Treñas (nephew of Representative Treñas), Liezl Joy Zulueta (daughter of graduating City Councilor Perla Zulueta), Lady Ann “Love-love” Baronda (sister of former city councilor Julienne “Jamjam” Baronda), Ed Peñaredondo  and Lex Tupas to the party’s top 12 candidates for city councilor.

However, Drilon proclaims Niel Tupas Sr., former Iloilo governor and the current Liberal Party-Iloilo provincial chairman, as the Liberal Party’s official candidate for governor of Iloilo province.

“The proclamation will end all speculations on who will be the gubernatorial bet here of LP,” said Tupas on his previous interview.

Governor Arthur Defensor Sr. and former governor Tupas have been pushing for the support of Liberal Party since the president of Liberal Party and now the DILG Secretary Manuel Roxas III requested the closure of the government party.

Even if LP President Roxas was not around, the said proclamation rally was successfully brought with special guests Representatives Erin Tañada III and Juan Edgardo Angara, the LP Secretary General and DOTC Secretary Joseph Emilio Abaya and the LP vice chairperson and Quezon City Representative Feliciano Belmonte.

The proclamation was then followed up by a mass oath taking for the new members and the re-affirmation of the current members of the Liberal Party.

Follow us

On Twitter – @PHLChronicle
On Facebook – facebook.com/PhilippineChronicle

Posted by on Sep 22 2012. Filed under 2013 Elections, GOVERNMENT, HEADLINES, NATION, Politics, Visayas. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

All Rights Reserved 2012-2014 © The Philippine Chronicle
The Philippine Chronicle dot com and dot net are sole properties of Renante Beron & Co.
Designed by Gabfire themes

. .